AGM results

Thank you to our members who voted in the 2024 Annual General Meeting. This year 67,384 members voted, which represents 5.3% of our eligible membership.


The table below shows the total number of votes cast. Members voted to approve the resolutions and the re-election of all directors.


To ensure fairness and accuracy, the AGM vote was independently scrutinised by Civica Election Services and counting of the votes was complete on 25 April 2024.

2024 voting results


Ordinary Resolutions          Result
1. To receive the Directors’ Report, Annual Accounts and Annual Business Statement for the year ended 31 December 2023.

         For: 66,232

         Against: 610

         Withheld: 542

         In favour: 99.1%

2. To approve the Directors’ Remuneration Report for the year ended 31 December 2023.

The vote is advisory and Directors' remuneration is not conditional on it.

         For: 60,729

         Against: 5,131

         Withheld: 1,513

         In favour: 92.2%

3. To reappoint PricewaterhouseCoopers UK (PwC) as Auditors of the Society to hold office until the end of the next Annual General Meeting.      

         For: 63,943

         Against: 2,564

         Withheld: 866

         In favour: 96.1%


Re-election of directors          Result

4. To re-elect Iraj Amiri as a director.


         For: 63,455

         Against: 2,688

         Withheld: 1,217

         In favour: 95.9%

5. To re-elect Stephen James Hughes as a director.

         For: 64,273

         Against: 1,978

         Withheld: 1,114

         In favour: 97.0%

6. To re-elect Joanne Louise Kenrick as a director. 

         For: 64,233

         Against: 2,104

         Withheld: 983

         In favour: 96.8%

 7. To re-elect Shamira Mohammed as a director.

         For: 63,719

         Against: 2,514

         Withheld: 1,121

         In favour: 96.2%

8. To re-elect Brendan O'Connor as a director.  

         For: 64,153

         Against: 2,046

         Withheld: 1,152

         In favour: 96.9%

9. To re-elect Lee Raybould as a director.

         For: 64,416

         Against: 1,821

         Withheld: 1,116

         In favour: 97.3%

10. To re-elect Martin Alastair Stewart as a director.

         For: 64,315

         Against: 1,915

         Withheld: 1,125

         In favour: 97.1%

11. To re-elect David Thorburn as a director.

         For: 64,215

         Against: 2,031

         Withheld: 1,112

         In favour: 96.9%

Are you eligible to vote in the AGM?


Voting eligibility




A saver (or “Shareholding Member”) is entitled to attend and vote if:


  • they are over 18 as at 25 April 2024; and
  • they held at least £100 in a savings Share account on 31 December 2023. The £100 may be held in one account or in aggregate across a number of accounts; and 
  • they continued to hold a balance in the savings Share account to and on the date of the AGM, or, if closed after 31 December 2023, other new savings Share accounts have been opened immediately by way of transfer etc. providing continuity of membership.




A borrower (or “Borrowing Member”) is entitled to attend and vote if:


  • they are over 18 as at 25 April 2024; and 
  • they owed to the Society a mortgage debt of not less than £100 on 31 December 2023; and 
  • they have continued to owe to the Society a mortgage debt of not less than £100 to and on the date of the AGM. However, this may be a new mortgage account - a gap between the two accounts is permitted.


If a savings Share account or a mortgage account is held in joint names, only the first named (the “Representative Joint Shareholder”) may attend and vote at the meeting. Second and subsequent joint holders may attend the meeting as proxies or, at the discretion of one of the senior stewards, as observers.



Go for a paperless vote


If you are registered for Online Services, you can update your preferences to receive information about our AGM by email and we'll send you the codes you'll need to be able to vote online in future AGMs.


Updating your AGM preferences


If you're eligible to vote at our AGM, and have registered to receive emails from us, we'll send you a link to the official Notice of AGM and our AGM booklet which includes our Summary Financial Statement. We'll also provide you with details about the meeting itself and how you can cast your vote online. Our AGM is usually held in April each year.


You have the option to change your AGM preferences at any time within Online Services.